News & Announcements

Westfield Robotics Finishes Season on a High Note

Westfield Robotics concluded its season on February 17 with its most successful results of the year. The team, WR That Hertz, competed in the semifinals of the FIRST Tech Challenge New Jersey Competition and was chosen as a partner team by the third highest scoring team. In the best out of three matches to move to the finals, That Hertz and its partner battled it out for all three matches. While That Hertz did not make it into the finals leading into the state championships, the team is immensely proud of all the progress made this season.
Read More »

Solar Savings

At Westfield High School, the amount of clean energy generated by solar panels installed on the roof equals the amount of CO2 emissions avoided by a family sedan driven 422,326 miles.  The solar panels installed at Edison Intermediate School have generated enough energy to date to provide electricity to 40 homes for one year. Just a few of the recent statistics provided by an online overview of the positive environmental impact of the district's solar panels installed on five solar-capable schools.
Read More »

Superintendent's Synopsis

Two appointments to the Board, a solar panel initiative, and a presentation on a tentative district budget were among the highlights at the February 26 Board of Education meeting. Read more in Dr. Dolan's synopsis.
Read More »

SEL - Social Awareness

Empathy and respect for different backgrounds and viewpoints are themes that appear throughout Social and Emotional Learning. But nowhere are they more prominent than in the third SEL competency, Social Awareness. As Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction and Programs Paul Pineiro explains in this segment of our TED-style Talks on SEL, developing social awareness among our students begins the moment teachers greet students on the first day of school for pre-kindergarten and kindergarten.
Read More »

National Merit Finalists

Four Westfield High School seniors have advanced as finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program having met academic and other standards to become eligible for scholarships
Read More »

SEL - Self-Management

Self-Management is the second of five core competencies of Social and Emotional Learning (SEL). It is the ability to successfully regulate your emotions, thoughts and behaviors in different situations, to effectively manage stress, control impulses and to set and work toward personal and academic goals. In this third segment of the district's series of TED-style Talks on SEL, Westfield High School principal Dr. Derrick Nelson outlines the critical importance of self-management in our schools and in our lives.
Read More »

SEL - Self-Awareness

The first of the Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) competencies is Self-Awareness. Self-awareness is crucial to all levels of success. When we are self-aware, we are able to recognize our emotions and how we respond to them, identify our strengths and weaknesses, and appreciate our self-worth and capabilities. As part of a series of TED-style Talks produced by the Westfield Public School District to explain SEL and how it is being used in our district, K-12 Director of Guidance Maureen Mazzarese focuses on the Self-Awareness competency of SEL, which allows us to live courageously, pursue our individual goals and dreams, and be our true selves.
Read More »

Spreading Kindness

On any given day throughout the school year, in any of the 10 schools in the Westfield Public School District, there are coat drives and food drives and collections of everyday items for communities in need. There are Two Lunch Thursdays and Extra Lunch Wednesdays where students bring an extra lunch and meet to make sandwiches, donating the lunches and sandwiches to food pantries and homeless shelters. There are dance-a-thons and math-a-thons and many other initiatives to raise money for pediatric cancer research and other charitable causes.
And whether observing Kindness Month or taking The Great Kindness Challenge or encouraging Random Acts of Kindness, there’s a common theme taking place this month and last across the district.
Read More »

WHS Dream Team Attends Peer Leadership Conference

The 31st Annual NJ Elks Peer Leadership Conference was held in Long Branch on Feb 1-3 and hosted approximately 475 students from around the state. The Westfield Municipal Alliance sponsors student attendance annually. 2019 is the 11th consecutive year that student members of the Westfield High School Dream Team, with additional financial support from parents, attended the conference.
Read More »
RSS Feed